Seven Churches

Concise Bible Dictionary:

There were seven assemblies in Asia, to which the vision of the Son of Man, inspecting the candlesticks, was to be communicated, and to each of which a separate address was given. These addresses dealt with the state those churches were in at that time. A perfect number was chosen out of the many assemblies then existing, showing that they were symbolical of the church generally, and prophetical of the history of the church to the end. The assemblies were at Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamos, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia and Laodicea, places comparatively near together in the west of Asia Minor.

Related Books and Articles: